Livonian Institute / Livonica 2019

2627 August 2019

University of Latvia Livonian Institute

Kronvalda bulvāris 4, Rīga

Information about submitting articles for the conference proceedings volume: please submit articles by 15 December 2019 to: When submitting articles, please follow the submission guidelines, which can be found here. All articles will be subject to anonymous peer review.

2018 was a significant year for the Livonian community with several important events relating to Livonian language and culture research taking place during this year. The Livonian Cultural Space was added to the Latvian National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage and the journey began towards its addition to the UNESCO List of Intangible Cultural Heritage. Also, this year saw the establishment of the Livonian Institute at the University of Latvia. Thus, “LIVONICA. Livonian language, history, and culture” is dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the University of Latvia and the 1st anniversary of the Livonian Institute.

This conference is a UNESCO International Year of Indigenous Languages (2019) event.

Conference programme: LIVONICA 2019_program_final

Plenary session speakers

Prof. Ina Druviete (University of Latvia)

Prof. Valter Lang (University of Tartu)


Conference working languages: Livonian, Latvian, English

A volume of reviewed articles will be published in English after the conference.

The Conference Organisers: University of Latvia Livonian Institute, University of Tartu Institute of Estonian and General Linguistics, Livonian Culture Centre


The scientific committee and editorial board of the conference:

Chair: Dr. phil. Valts Ernštreits (UL Livonian Institute)

Dr. phil. Rogier Blokland (Uppsala University)

Dr. hist. Renāte Blumberga (UL Livonian Institute)

Dr. philol. Ina Druviete (University of Latvia)

Dr. phil. Miina Norvik (University of Tartu)

Dr. phil. Karl Pajusalu (University of Tartu)

Dr. philol. Jurgis Pakerys (Vilnius University)

Dr. phil. Eberhard Winkler (University of Göttingen)


The conference organising committee:

Chair: Dr. phil. Valts Ernštreits (UL Livonian Institute),

Dr. phil. Uldis Balodis (UL Livonian Institute),

Dr. philol. Gunta Kļava (UL Livonian Institute),

Dr. phil. Miina Norvik (University of Tartu),

Dr. phil. Tuuli Tuisk (University of Tartu),